Introducing Debut Author Felice Stevens

fs_rescuedGuys! I’m so excited! Today I get to introduce you to Felice Stevens and her new book Rescued. It’s such a pleasure to be able to highlight a new author AND a truly special m/m romance all in one. Take it away, Felice!

First, could you tell us a little about yourself and Rescued?

I am a married mother of two, a lawyer and a voracious reader. I’ve always loved reading; mysteries, historical fiction, mostly about English history and of course, romance.

Here’s the blurb for Rescued, which comes out today from LooseId:

Ryder Daniels has spent the last year recovering from rejection: his parents couldn’t accept his sexuality and his lover chose drugs over his love. The only bright lights in his life are his younger brother and his rescued pit bull. But now his mother’s punishment for his lifestyle has cut him off from his brother he loves so deeply. Devastated, he throws himself into the work of the Pit Bull Foundation he and his friends started.

Jason Mallory can no longer hide the dissatisfaction of his relationship with his longtime girlfriend. When her marriage ultimatum pushes him to break things off, he’s determined not to jump into the dating scene. But when a group of injured pit bulls are found on his construction site, he can’t forget the guy who shows up to help.

After Jason adopts one of the dogs, he and Ryder become fast friends—until one night, Ryder lets down his guard and Jason recognizes his desire. Soon, they can’t deny the passion between them but will family differences and ugly prejudices keep them apart, or can they fight to prove that love is precious, no matter the flavor?

What inspired Rescued?

I have no idea! I was walking home from work one day and the whole book popped into my head; names, plot, everything. Pearl, one of the dogs, is based on a real life rescued pit bull one of my oldest friends owns. She was held in a lab where they planned on doing brain experiments on her. Luckily, she was rescued.

What is your favorite part of writing?

When that moment hits, and the words flow with ease. Unfortunately, doesn’t happen that often!

What is your least favorite part of writing?

Edits!! But seriously, when I go back and see the plot holes and have to rework what I’ve already written.

How likely are people you meet to end up in your next book?

Not at all. My characters come out of my head.

Do you prefer to read in the same genres you write in or do you avoid reading that genre? Why?

I love reading in my genre, because there are so many awesome gay romance authors. They are my inspiration. But, I also do take breaks, and still read my mysteries and historical fiction, as well as some of my favorite historical romance authors.

Has your muse always known what genre you would write and be published in?

Ha! NOT AT ALL!! I started out writing Regency romance, and still plan to publish my books. I have three full regencies waiting in the wings. One day I picked up a male/male romance and was swept away for want of a better phrase. I just knew I wanted to write that genre.

What do you have planned for the future? What’s next?

I have a series planned about three foster brothers who have all suffered some form of abuse, and have a hard time accepting love. The series title is To Hell and Back, and the first book, A Walk Through Fire, is on submission. I am now working on the second book, After the Fire.

Thanks so much for stopping by, Felice. Check out Rescued here:

http://www.loose-id.com/rescued.html
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22881962-rescued?from_search=true

One thought on “Introducing Debut Author Felice Stevens

Comments are closed.