Medieval Monday: Girl Power

Well, I’ve been having trouble finding time to write blog posts lately. But fortunately, I have a whole store of them to draw on! I’ve been thinking a lot about the resurgence in demands for women to be treated equally that has popped up lately, so I thought I’d repost some of my old Medieval Monday posts about the amount of power that some women really did have back in the Middle Ages. Enjoy!

Merry Farmer

The Middle Ages.  They weren’t what you thought they were.  Welcome to Medieval Monday, in which I employ my two History degrees and irritation about the misconceptions of Days of Yore to bring you topics about an era you only think you know.  You ain’t seen nothin’ yet….

Girl Power

In one of the most breathtaking scenes from a movie that I’ve ever had the pleasure of seeing, Cate Blanchet as Elizabeth I makes the transformation from desperate young monarch to ass-kicking icon of leadership and invincibility.  If any given person knows anything about History at all they usually know that England’s Elizabeth I was one of the most powerful and long-ruling monarchs ever.  But Elizabeth I was just one in a long line of women who ruled and, unfortunately, have been neglected by the men who wrote the History books.

Long before Elizabeth I massive amounts of Medieval butt-kicking…

View original post 1,252 more words

