Selfishness and the Writer

I’ve sort of been taking a vacation from blogging this week, but that doesn’t mean I haven’t been thinking about a lot of topics in the writing-sphere. I’ve been particularly obsessed with the exchange between Joe Konrath and Kensington CEO Steven Zacharius over on Joe’s blog from Sunday the 19th. We live in such a changing world as writers! So I thought that since I haven’t been blogging anew this week, I’d share some past thoughts that I’ve been revisiting. Here’s one now…..

Merry Farmer

It takes drive and dedication to write and publish a novel.  That much everyone knows.  If you’re going to reach for the brass ring and write something that people will want to buy, that they will want to tell their friends to buy, you’re going to have to put in some serious hours.  You’re going to have to learn the craft, figure out the mysteries of grammar and punctuation.  You’re going to have to put in the time to get the entire story plotted, whether you do it in advance or as you write.  And you’re going to have to be painstakingly honest as you carry your novel through the revision process to make it the best work it can be.  And that’s all long before you start to market it and yourself.

But lately I’ve been thinking about one other aspect of what it takes to be a writer. …

View original post 799 more words

