Top Five Things I Watched in 2013

Continuing with my year-end look at the best of 2013, today I’m looking back over the stuff I watched in 2013. I’m including movies and TV in this category because I don’t actually see a lot of movies. I watch a lot of TV either, but between the two I have enough to pull from.

These are things that were new in 2013, or at least new to me. I think Silver Linings Playbook actually came out in 2012, but I didn’t see it until after the new year. So here we go….

silver linings

Silver Linings Playbook – Well, I sort of spoiler-ified that one in my comment above, didn’t I. Like I said, I don’t actually see a lot of movies in the theater, but I saw this one! I loved it, of course. What good Philly girl wouldn’t love an Oscar-worthy movie about two messed up people set in her own hometown? Especially when I recognized a lot of the places where they filmed. It was just a good movie, period. I have a weak spot for lonely people and people who have lost someone and crazy people, so of course I was crying all over this one. And who doesn’t like a little dancing now and then?

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire – Actually, I’m including both the first Hunger Games movie and the second in this mention because I saw both of them in 2013. I rented the first one and saw the second one in the theater. I love these books, and while the movies weren’t quite as good as the books, these ones came really close. I love it when a movie stays true to the book and still ends up being a great film. Frankly, if more book movies stuck close to the book, they’d probably be much better. I also think that the casting for these films was absolutely spot-on perfect – ALL of the characters. I loved it!

Downton Abbey – THS IS NOT A SPOILER!!! I know, I know, everyone got really angry over the way Downton Abbey season three ended. If you know, then you KNOW. I was furious myself and wanted to march on over to the UK to give Jullian Fellowes a piece of my mind. … Or maybe just to tour the sites where they film the show. Ah, but think about it. The only reason people get THAT angry about the outcome of a TV show is because they are deeply involved on an emotional level. That’s what Downton Abbey does. Granted, the plotlines aren’t perfect and a lot of things had me rolling my eyes big time, but it’s still good entertainment. And yes, I’ve seen the fourth season already. Those of you who have vowed not to watch the fourth season because of what happened at the very, very end of season three, WATCH IT. You will not be disappointed. Well, not with that plotline, at least. Some of the others left me underwhelmed, but that one was excellent!

The Mindy Project – And here we have my favorite new TV show! I really love Mindy Kaling. Her show combines all of the weird and quirky elements of her personality without being as overdone hipster as New Girl. As a friend of mine pointed out, New Girl is for people in their twenties, The Mindy Project is for people in their thirties and older. I roar with laughter every time I watch it.

Chennai Express – Okay, it wouldn’t be a list of movies I love if I didn’t include something from Bollywood. Chennai Express is Shah Rukh Khan’s latest. It’s goofy, silly, unrealistic, colorful, sappy, and over-the-top. It’s also awesome. The plot is predictable and far-fetched, the acting is…Bollywood, the songs are so-so, but the overall film is two-and-a-half hours of absolute fun! There’s a reason I like Bollywood. This is it.

So those are my choices for top things I’ve watched in 2013. What are some of yours?

