2013 Book #33 – Seduced by Innocence, by Karpov Kinrade

I should probably start off by saying that I’ve never really “gotten” the whole paranormal romance thing. It just isn’t a genre that speaks to me. Twilight? Never been the slightest bit interested in reading it. The only reason I picked up Seduced by Innocence (as part of a 3-book bundle that includes its two sequels, Seduced by Pain and Seduced by Power) was because I’ve become online friends with one of the two people that makes up author Karpov Kinrade. That being said…holy cow, I loved this book!

seduced by innocence

No, really! Me? Loving a paranormal “new adult” romance? Yes! Absolutely! I’m as surprised as you are.

Although the more I think about it, I’m actually not surprised at all.

For a while now I’ve been getting increasingly impatient with historical romance. So many of the ones I’ve read lately, while good in their own right, just seem to be missing something for me. I think I found that something in Seduced by Innocence. It’s a sort of feeling of high stakes and vivid action, I think. I love having something really dire going on, with lots of movement and description. I think it’s why I’m going to be dipping my fingers in the sci-fi world for a year or so after finishing the Montana Romance series. I just like it when something is happening.

Another thing I liked about Seduced by Innocence is the homage it pays to Romeo and Juliet (down to the quotes from the play that begin each chapter). It’s one of those age-old stories of two households, both alike in dignity, but at each other’s throats. And in the midst of that, the most unlikely member of each family falls in love. Kind of cool. More than kind of.

I like the way Karpov Kinrade handles magic in this book (series) too. It’s there, it’s a major part of the story, but the human aspects of the characters and the emotions they have are more important than what spells they’re wielding and how that all works. You could almost take the magic out of the story without changing any of it. Almost. Obviously, the magic itself plays a crucial role in the development of the plot and, I’m assuming, in the rest of the series.

There are a few more things along those lines that I could say, but I don’t want to give away too much of the plot as it unfolds throughout the book.

I found myself liking the heroine, Rose, in spite of the fact that she’s only 19. I’m so far away from 19 right now that it’s like a foreign planet. I think Karpov Kinrade did a very good job of capturing the unique thoughts, feelings, and expression of someone who is an adult on paper, but still has a long way to go before actually being an adult. At the same time, I didn’t think Rose was overly whiney or too brash or too emo. She works well as a character—even her naiveté about some things, which is understandable, given her circumstances. Yeah! It all just works very well and I’m interested in seeing where it all goes from here.

I also liked the supporting characters in the story, from the awesome best friend, Ocean, to the “is he creepy or will he be okay once he gets over himself a little” Blake. And I think the villain of the story is delightfully awful, and the fact that it took me a couple of chapters to catch on to the fact that THAT’S who the bad guy was was cool.

So yeah, I actually enjoyed a paranormal romance! Go figure. Next up…actually, I haven’t decided yet. I’ve downloaded a bunch of books to my Kindle lately that I should read, not to mention this enormous stack I still haven’t made it through from RWA Nationals this summer. But I would like to try to get one more book in by the end of the year. I’ll keep you posted….

2 thoughts on “2013 Book #33 – Seduced by Innocence, by Karpov Kinrade

Comments are closed.