Top Five Songs of 2013

Yes! The best thing about the end of the year, in my humble opinion, is that it’s when everyone does their “Year in Review” or top ten or so lists! 2013 was a pretty good year for me, when all was said and done (much better than 2012), so I’m going to celebrate it with a few posts about my “tops” of the year.

Today I’d like to share with you my top five favorite new songs of 2013. These are songs that were released in the year 2013. I listened to a lot of music this year and much of it was older stuff, but these are my favorite five brand new songs (with one bonus…you’ll see). In no particular order….

Haim – “The Wire”: I don’t know what I like more about this song, the lyrics, the catchy tune, the hilarious video, or the fact that the group Haim is made up of three sisters who look like they could kick my butt and look good doing it. This was one of my bigger earworms for the year.

Wild Cub – “Thunder Clatter”: I fell in love with this song the very first time I heard it on the radio. It’s got a really catch beat that reminds me a lot of Punjabi bhangra music. I’m still not entirely sure what the words are, but hey, do you really need to know the words of a song to like it? (This song is so new they don’t even have an official video yet, but they do have this

Daughn Gibson – “Kissin’ on the Blacktop”: Now, by this point I’m sure a lot of you are scratching your head and saying “I’ve never heard of these bands/singers. What radio station do you listen to???” Answer: the local Philadelphia indie pop/rock radio station. And Daughn Gibson is a local boy (well, from central PA) who is making good. I love this song of his. It’s kind of got a little bit of everything to it in terms of style, and he’s pretty hot in that traditional hunk male sort of way. (although this video is just strange, imho. I’d rather just listen to the song)

The Lone Bellow – “Bleeding Out”: I just love this song! It’s kind of my theme song for the year. Very cool stuff. However, I can’t help but giggle at the earnestness of the band members in the video. Lighten up a little, guys!

Diego Garcia – “Start With The End”: This song makes me warm. Diego Garcia is from New York, but he has Argentinean roots, which he explores in this, his latest album. I love the southern rhythms and feel of this song. It’s the kind of thing you listen to on the beach. (another one without an official video yet, but this is a performance he did of the song at the studios of my favorite local radio station, WXPN)

And my bonus song for the year….

Robin Thicke – “Blurred Lines”: Because, I mean, come on! You have to! I choose to think that this entire song is tongue-in-cheek and that he’s just being a big old goof ball. Well, it’s that or he’s a total misogynistic pig. And the Miley Cyrus incident aside, he is kind of cute. This song is a total earworm!

*gglsnort* I’m sorry, I just can’t watch that video without giggling hysterically. There’s no way they’re serious about it!

So anyhow, there are my song choices for 2013. What were your favorite songs?

