The Importance of Bliss

I love cricket! And cricket season in the US is almost here! In fact, my cricket team, British Officer’s Cricket Club, held its annual Curry Dinner and Ridiculous Raffle/Auction on Saturday night as a warm-up to the season! It was fantastic to see all of my cricket guys and their wives and families again. I always miss them in the winter. But never fear, cricket is almost here!

cricket pitchFor those of you who haven’t heard me talk about cricket before (there are probably two of you left out there), I am a scorer for a local club team, BOCC, here in Philadelphia. We have a thriving cricket community made up mostly of ex-pats from South Asia, Australia & New Zealand, and the UK. Oh, and we have a few token Americans on our team. I stumbled across cricket a few years ago by way of Bollywood, and it was love at first sight. Now I’m inches away from becoming an officially certified scorer, and my club president last night was encouraging me to become an umpire.

Seems a bit incongruous for an ordinary American girl to be so interested in cricket, doesn’t it. And yes, it’s delightfully unlikely. But cricket fills a place in my soul that I didn’t even know existed or was missing anything a few years ago. It’s fun, it’s exciting, and it’s led me to form some fantastic friendships. In fact, I feel like I could depend on my cricket team members to help me out in a pinch more than some family members! Who would have thought?

Yes, for me cricket is bliss. And everyone needs some bliss. But bliss is tricky. It seems like it should be obvious when really it’s elusive. I think there are a lot of people out there in the world who are searching for something, some kind of fulfillment or validation. Maybe they’re just looking for something to do on the weekends or for someone to go out to the pub with on a Saturday night.

Then again, I see a lot of people who find that kind of bliss and fulfillment in their families. I know so many women around my age, give or take a decade, who are in love with their families. They talk about their kids, their husband, their siblings, their dogs, all the time and with a glow in their eyes that makes them beautiful. They find such selfless happiness in these things that it elevates them, body and soul.

But not everyone has the luxury of a healthy marriage or a tight-knit family. And I’m not saying that bliss comes exclusively with the people you share a roof or a name with, just that I see a lot of people who find bliss there.

Me and some of my cricket buddies when we were on tour in the UK

Me and some of my cricket buddies when we were on tour in the UK

What really makes me happy is when I see people who have gone out there and found their bliss in an unlikely place. I have a friend who is in a similar situation to mine in that she is not married and doesn’t have a lot of close family who has found her bliss in martial arts. How cool is that? She has found an activity she enjoys with people she feels close to, and she has welcomed that bliss into her life with full enthusiasm. You can see the sparkle in her eyes when she talks about it, and it’s awesome!

Bliss is so important! Without it, what do you have? Reality TV?

Actually, I’m kind of not kidding about that. I think it’s safe to say that I fall into the category of people who believes that TV is the drug of the masses. From my point of view, it is a pale imitation of the enjoyment that can be found in getting out there and finding your bliss. Bliss is active, it involves you, it keeps you alive. TV asks nothing more from you than your butt on a couch and your brain on cruise control.

Which life sounds more interesting? A life of bliss, of course! Getting up, going out, and giving your whole heart to something is absolutely the way to go. Is it easy? Not necessarily. It’s a big stretch for me to give up one entire day per weekend in the summer to go to cricket. Time is valuable in this modern world. Is it cheap? Some people’s bliss might be, but cricket, even for me as a scorer, comes with a price tag. One I struggle to afford sometimes. Is it fun? Absolutely! And I’ve made friends that I hope to keep for life.

So what’s your bliss? What gets your heart pumping and your spirits soaring? What do you look forward to in the off-season?

And once you’ve answered that question, get up, get out there, and do it!

3 thoughts on “The Importance of Bliss

    • *LOL* Believe me, we’re working on it. There is no professional cricket, but there is a lot of club cricket. And there’s also a huge movement to have cricket taught in schools. My club is a part of that. Give us a few years and who knows! =D

  1. Heading to the Wild Horse Loop on White Mountain and hunting Mustangs for fabulous pictures. Truck in 4WD, daughter in the bed searching with binoculars, camera at the ready – anytime of the year. Ahhh, bliss.

Comments are closed.