2013 Book #3 – When Only Diamonds Will Do, by Lindsay Armstrong

This is the Mills and Boon novella my friend sent me from Australia. For those who don’t know, Mills and Boon is (now) a part of Harlequin in Commonwealth countries, like Australia, the UK, etc. And I think it’s safe to say that this particular book counts as a category romance.

Quick explanation: Romance is generally divided into two types, Category and Single Title. What I write (and generally read) counts as Single Title. They are books that stand on their own (although they may be part of a series) as opposed to being part of a particular line. They’re generally over 80,000 words. Category romance are generally shorter and included as part of a line. When Only Diamonds Will Do looks like it’s part of the “Sexy” line. Lines tend to be more rigid in the scope of their topics and their steam factor. A lot of times people subscribe to Category romance lines and have books sent to them every month. I think.

Anyhow….

only diamondsOkay. When Only Diamonds Will Do, by Lindsay Armstrong.

Um, I am not the intended audience for this book. Not in the least. So everything I’m about to say has to be taken with a grain of salt.

Didn’t like it. Sorry. I found the storyline simplistic and the characters two-dimensional. Our heroine, Kim Theron, is a typical rich girl who has grown up in the Perth area on or around her parents vineyard. She’s into things like horses, fashion shows, and also happens to teach. But that doesn’t last long, because as soon as the hunky billionaire hero sweeps into her life and bribes her into marrying him in exchange for him bailing out her parents and brother, that all changes. She becomes a socialite wife.

Of course the whole bribery thing was all a kind of ruse because the hero is afraid to get close to people since his first wife, who he didn’t really love, died in childbirth. Our hero, Reith, has more money than God, of course, and buys companies in trouble, a la Richard Gere’s character in Pretty Woman.

I suppose it wasn’t all that bad, really. If you like intensely detailed descriptions of every item of clothing the hero and heroine were wearing, of every meal they ate, and of every room they walked into – DETAILED descriptions – then you’ll probably enjoy this. In fact, I’m sure there are people who love that kind of thing. I’m not one of them.

I also felt as though there wasn’t much action within the plot. And it sort of stretched my willing suspension of disbelief that the heroine had completely redecorated her parent’s house within two months of taking possession. Every room, every detail. Including installing helicopter landing pad in the back yard. I wonder if the author has ever done a home-improvements project.

One final gripe. Nothing in this story had anything even remotely to do with diamonds, so I have no idea where the title came from.

But I suppose if you like a quick zip through the lives of the ultra-rich, then you’d probably like this book. I can think of a lot of demographics of people I’d rather read about though. That’s why I started out by saying I am not the audience for this book.

I am, however, incredibly tickled that my Aussie friend sent this to me. Thanks!

Okay, next up? A vastly different world. How different?  Ender’s Game, by Orson Scott Card.  That’s how different.

