An Interview with Cynthia Woolf (You gotta meet her!)

I’m incredibly pleased today to introduce you to one of my writer friends, Cynthia Woolf.  Cynthia writes some truly awesome novels.  Her Western romances are not to be missed and her Sci-Fi romances are absolutely page-turners.  Of course I’m always a fan of someone who writes both Westerns and Sci-Fi, so I sat down and asked Cynthia a few questions….

IMG_6279_Cindy_Promo_6x9Where did you grow up? Siblings? Locale? Were you considered a “bookworm” or a jock?  Married, single? Children?

I grew up in the mountains west of Denver, CO.  I have three brothers, two older (much older) and one younger.  Because my older brothers were so much older than me, eight and twelve years older, my mother always said she raised two families.  I was considered a definite bookworm.  My mother was a librarian and we always had new books in the house.  I loved it because I would get the book before anyone else.  I’m married and have no children.

Who are your favorite authors and favorite genres?

My favorite genre is historical romance.  I like all time periods with regency probably my favorite.  Two of my favorite authors are Johanna Lindsey and Julie Garwood.  And although, I haven’t read Merry’s books yet, they sound like they are right up my alley.

What’s your favorite way to relax and recharge? Hobbies?

I like to garden and we like to go fishing.  Unfortunately, we haven’t been fishing in years now, but we still think about going.  Now if we could just find the time. 🙂

How long have you been writing?

I started writing when I was ten.  I wrote a story, a romance of course, about a little boy that I liked at the time.  I still remember his name, David Williams, but nothing else about the story.

Where do you prefer to write? Do you need quiet, music, solitude? PC or laptop?

I can write anywhere because my first draft is in long hand.  I prefer quiet and when I use a computer I prefer my PC.

capital_bride_final_(2)_2Are you a plotter or a panzer?

I’m a definite pantser.  I feel like when I plot the book it’s already written so what is the point.  Of course, that leads to another problem that is more prevalent among pantsers, the sagging middle.  I always know the beginning and end of the book but never have any idea about how to get there.  LOL  It usually works itself out when I’m writing.

Do you set daily writing goals? Word count? Number of chapters? Do you get a chance to write every day? 

I don’t set daily goals.  I write full time and I just make sure that I write something every day.  I can’t fix a blank page.

What do you hope your writing brings to readers?

I’m not trying to write the next great American novel, I just want my readers to be able to get away from their real lives for a few hours and relax and enjoy my story

Would you like to tell us what you’re working on now?

I’m working on the second book in my Matchmaker & Co. series, Heiress Bride.  I just published the first of this series on December  9th.

What advice would you give to unpublished authors?

Write, write and write some more.  Get a good critique group.  Get a professional cover and get a professional editor.

A fun fact readers wouldn’t know about you.

I collect purses.

Is your book a series? If so, how long? Family saga, other?

Both of my latest releases are part of a series.  Capital Bride is the first in the Matchmaker & Co. series.  It is a western set in Colorado in 1867 and is about a mail order bride.

My second book out this month is the third in my Swords of Gregara series.  It’s called The Swords of Gregara – Honora.  It’s a scifi romance that takes place on two planets.  The planet Gregara and the planet Thrakus.

Can you give readers a blurb about your book?

Here is the blurb for Capital Bride:

Unexpectedly homeless, un-wed mother Sarah Johnson has few options.  They could go live with her cousin William, but Sara believes there’s something untoward about his offer and it leaves her feeling uncomfortable.  She’s qualified to be a governess, but no one will have her because she wasn’t married when she had her precious MaryAnn.  Matchmaker & Co could be her salvation as mail-order-bride to Mr. John Atwood.

Single father, John Atwood, is raising his daughter the best he can in the wilds of the Colorado Territory but knows he needs help.  No woman he knows wants to take on the raising of his daughter who hasn’t spoken since she saw her mother brutally murdered during a bank robbery.  Can Sarah, John and their two daughters overcome their pasts and find happiness together?

Here is the blurb for The Swords of Gregara – Honora:

HONORAThey stole her love, her life and want to steal the secrets secured in her mind. Secrets that could topple world governments and decimate quadrant security forever.  Now she’s on an epic quest to find out why and make those responsible pay.

Honora Reyestat gave up everything to become a member of the esteemed Gregarian Guard.  No family, no friends, no connections–nothing that can ever be used against her.  Captured and enslaved, she’s become a prized gladiator for her master.  Given the task of training a new slave, she recognizes a fellow Zolthor and the son of a tribal leader at that.  Her mission changes from discovery of the enemy’s tactics and secrets to returning Joridan to his people.

Drawn to this fierce woman as no other, Joridan Dolana tries to explain she is wrong.  He’s not Zolthor, he’s Centauri.  He was raised on Centauri with his sister.  Faced with proof of a father’s ultimate betrayal, he must choose between revenge and the protection of this woman who has sworn to never return his love.

Where can readers find your books?

These are for Capital Bride:

Amazon:  http://amzn.com/B00AM3CNQ4 Barnes & Noble:  http://bit.ly/UBnOpz Smashwords:  https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/263984

These are for The Swords of Gregara – Honora Amazonhttp://amzn.com/B00AS4MOJI Barnes & Noble:  http://bit.ly/Y7WjVc Smashwords:  http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/267920

 

How can readers learn more about you? (website, blog, Facebook, etc?)

Readers can find me on my website www.cynthiawoolf.com On my blog:  www.cynthiawoolf.com/blog On Facebook: www.facebook.com/CynthiaWoolf On Twitter: @CynthiaWoolf

Is there anything else you’d like readers to know about you?

Like all authors, I’m so grateful for my readers.  I thank you all for reading my books.

Thanks so much for stopping by to visit, Cynthia!

Check out Cyntha Woolf’s Amazon author page where you can find links and information about all of her books.

10 thoughts on “An Interview with Cynthia Woolf (You gotta meet her!)

  1. Merry, thank you so much for having me today. It was a fun interview and it’s nice to find another author who writes in the same genres I do. I don’t feel like such a freak> LOL

  2. Merry, I forgot to say that I’m giving away a copy of my book Capital Bride to one lucky commentor and a $5 Starbucks card to another. I hope that people will leave lots of comments and I apologize for leaving that out of my blog.

  3. I can totally relate Regan. I love the way you put it. The “mire in the middle” is so descriptive of what the mess the middle can be.

  4. Regan and Callie, please email me at cindy@cynthiawoolf.com. You are the winners. Regan you won a copy of Capital Bride. I need to know what format you would like? Callie you won the $5 Starbucks card and I need your mailing address.

    Merry, thanks so much for hosting me. I had a great time.

Comments are closed.