Myers-Briggs Has Personality

So this week at work a few of my coworkers have been having a lot of fun with personality tests, specifically the Myers-Briggs test.  This is totally my favorite personality test.  It’s the one that I find to be the most accurate too.

The Myers-Briggs personality test was invented by Katharine Cook Briggs and her daughter, Isabel Briggs Myer over a period of many years, beginning during WWII.  These two indomitable women were devout students of the work of Carl Jung, who first wrote about personality types in 1921.  Briggs and Myers wanted to take the theories of Jung and put them to practical use.  Which is exactly what a woman would do with the theoretical work of a man. 😉

The initial questionnaire developed by Briggs and Myers developed into the Myers Briggs Type Indicator in 1962.  There are 16 Myers-Briggs personality types based on four different dichotomies.  The first pair of dichotomies deals with Attitude: Extroversion (E) v. Introversion (I).  The second two deal with how one functions: the perception functions of Sensing (S) v. Intuition (N) and the judgment functions of Feeling (F) v. Thinking (T).  Perception has to do with how you receive information and judgment has to do with how you make decisions based on that information.  The final dichotomy has to do with whether you use your perceiving function (S or N) or your judging function (F or T) when dealing with the outside world.  Cool stuff.

Pretty sure we all turned out to be different personality types.

Pretty sure we all turned out to be different personality types.

I happen to be an INFJ.  INFJs are the Counselors.  We tend to be independent and imaginative.  When making decisions we give more weight to social implications than to logic.  We’re compassionate in an introverted way.  But even though we’re more emotional, we prefer things ordered and controlled.  We’re also only about 2% of the population.  However, a large percentage of us happen to be authors.  We are artists.  We really care about you, but we don’t want to go out and party with you.

I happen to be extra doomed within my personality, because as well as being an INFJ, I’m also a Cancerian born in the year of the Tiger.  Cancerians tend to be emotional nurturers, prone to passions, who would rather stay at home (in our shells like crabs) than go out.  People born in the Year of the Tiger tend to be strongly individualistic and fierce loners.

Yep, looks like I’m doomed to be alone with my imagination.

But enough about me.  I’m interested in you.  Here’s the link to a Myers-Briggs personality test online.  I’d love it if you could take it and tell me what you are.  And be sure to let me know if you think the results actually fit with your personality or not.

11 thoughts on “Myers-Briggs Has Personality

  1. INTJ here 🙂 Sagittarius born in the year of the Rat. I read through the results, and it came out fairly accurate. I’m in the ranks of Emily Bronte, Jane Austen, Stephen Hawking and quite a few others. It hit the nail on the head considering I have a degree in Biology and it said a career in science suited me. Interesting, indeed.

  2. INFP, here. But, I’m also a Leo…. Probably why I border on Extroversion in some situations. And a Sheep/Goat… I forget how that influences things, tho.

  3. I’m INTJ. I used to hate being an introvert, felt like there was something wrong with me because of it, but I read a great book recently that explained not only the differences, but how introverts have an important place in society and explains ways to accept our nature and express it even though it goes against what the current world “prefers”. The book is The Power of Quiet by Susan Cain. Really good read.

  4. Ah yes another INFJ…weren’t the right answers obvious to everyone, LOL? Re. introverts – yes it’s been a very unpopular personality trait in recent times, with extroverted ‘team players’ being fashionable over the last couple of decades. Might look that book up Samantha, sounds interesting. And yes I’m a writer & photographer (hide behind a camera), working from my cave-like office. Thanks for the interesting blog!

Comments are closed.