Cookie Addiction

I think I’ve mentioned before that I have a cookie problem.  I love cookies!  They are my drug of choice.  Don’t buy me diamonds, I don’t have any use for pearls, but if you make me cookies I’ll be yours forever!

I have a top secret recipe for chocolate chip cookies that I have always considered my favorite, but recently a coworker turned me on to Peanut Butter Pillows, also known as those cookies with Hershey’s kisses on them.  They are fantastic and super easy to make.  Here’s the recipe:

Peanut Butter Pillowscookies

  • 1¾ cups flour
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • ½ tsp. salt
  • ½ cup butter (one stick)
  • ½ cup peanut butter
  • ½ cup sugar
  • ½ cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • Hershey’s Kisses

Cream butter, eggs, sugars, peanut butter, and vanilla.  Sift flour, baking soda, & salt.  Mix well into creamed ingredients.  Drop teaspoonfuls onto baking sheet and bake at 350˚ for 10 minutes.  Remove and immediately place Hershey’s Kiss on each cookie.

So delicious!

But of course I didn’t stop there, oh no!  I decided that I wanted to make chocolate cookies with Candy Cane Hershey’s Kisses for the holidays.  It took a couple of attempts at altering the recipe to get it right, but here’s what I came up with:

Chocolate Candy Cane Pillowscookies2

  • 2½ cups of flour
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • ½ tsp. salt
  • ½ cup cocoa powder
  • 1 cup butter (2 sticks)
  • ½ cup sugar
  • ½ cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • Candy Cane Hershey’s Kisses

Follow the same directions for the Peanut Butter Pillows.  Note that the Candy Cane Hershey’s Kisses melt completely when you stick them on the cookies, but hey, they still taste fantastic!

Now, I might have the amount of flour slightly off there.  I used the same amount for the Peanut Butter Pillows with two sticks of butter on my first try and they melted into a sticky, blobby mess.  When I added more flour for the second batch they turned out perfectly.  But I’m not really sure exactly how much flour I added.  What I have up there is a guess.

Anyhow, I really like that peanut butter cookie recipe.  It’s the kind of thing that can be morphed into all different kinds of cookies.  Someone suggested that I should try making the chocolate cookies and adding peanut butter chips to them.  I’ve GOT to try that!  There are all sorts of different things you could add to a simple cookie dough like this one.

And so my cookie addiction continues!

5 thoughts on “Cookie Addiction

    • D’oh! I just realized I forgot to include the cocoa powder in my chocolate peppermint recipe. Don’t forget that if you’re going to attempt these! (goes to edit the post)

  1. I heard that people in the Dark and Middle Ages were so dirty and backward that they didn’t even have cookies. Thoughts?

Comments are closed.