When Do You Become A Writer?

A couple of weeks ago I was having dinner with some family friends, talking about my latest book, and their teenage daughter asked me, “How do you come up with your ideas?”

What a great question!  I blinked, tilted my head to the side, and answered, “I kind of don’t come up with them, they’re just there.”

My young friend looked at me and said, “No, but where do they come from?  How do you think up all those stories?”

Her mom smiled and told her daughter, “Some people’s minds just work differently like that.”

How true it is!  But it also begs the question: Are writers born or made?

© Roman Milert | Dreamstime.com

We all learn to write at some point.  For me it was first grade.  I had learned my letters like everyone else, and as that eventful school year progressed I learned the magic of putting them together to make words.  This was more than just an exercise in phonics.  It was the dawning of a whole new era.  I still remember the day that I learned to write the word “grasshopper”.  It was the longest, most beautiful, most complicated word ever!  I remember staring at my extremely wide-ruled page of writing paper and thinking *sigh* grasshopper!

When mankind first began creating signs and pictures to represent words it was considered miraculous.  Storytellers who could capture their words in stones or on paper with a few simple lines were considered shamans.  They were revered by their tribes as people of great power and wisdom.  They could do what no other people could do: they could speak to people far, far away.  They could tell stories years after their deaths.  These were amazing people.

But does the ability to form words on a surface make you a writer?  Evidently not, as my young friend reminded me.  How do you come up with your ideas?  People have been asking writers those questions for millennia.

At the same time, coming up with stories and ideas isn’t exclusive to just a few magicians.  If you watch young children at play you can see they are just bursting with stories.  Whether its reenacting their favorite tale or coming up with an explanation for why the toy dog and the toy dinosaur aren’t getting along, children create stories by nature.  Play is the developing mind’s way of ordering the universe and making it familiar.  Coming up with stories to explain the narrative of any given play session is just what kids do.

So if we all spend a huge amount of our childhood making up stories, why do only some of us become writers?

Ah.  Here’s where I think my friend’s explanation to her teenage daughter was right.  Some people’s minds just work differently.

Future Adventure Novelist?
© Dianne Mcfadden | Dreamstime.com

I happen to believe that you can’t teach someone to be a writer.  You can teach someone to write, you can teach them grammar, you can teach them plot structure and character development, but you can’t teach them to have a passion for it.  And you definitely can’t teach imagination.  Imagination is as much a genetic trait as athletic ability or musical talent.  Either you’ve got it or you don’t.

But what if you do have it?  What if you’ve got the perfect storm of neurons and synapses that allows your imagination to run free and the passion to drop everything in order to focus on getting those stories out there?  When does natural talent translate to you being a writer?

My argument would be that you become a writer when you start writing.  Not when you learn to spell grasshopper, not when you sign a book deal with a big six publisher, but when you first decide that there’s nothing more that you’d like to do in a given moment then find a pencil and some paper and write a story.

For me that moment came in third grade when I realized that I didn’t have to wait for the teacher to assign a creative writing project to write something.  I was ten years old.  It was awesome.  For my niece it might just have come earlier.  A couple years ago, when she was eight or nine, her mother, my sister-in-law informed me that my niece had taken to writing plays for her and her friends to perform.  Thus furthering the argument that this crazy writing thing is genetic.

Do you have to start when you’ve just learned to write grasshopper?  Not at all.  You’re still a writer and have every right to call yourself one if you wait until you’re old and grey to pick up a pen for the first time.  I might be willing to argue that you become a writer when you start imagining stories in your head, whether you write them down or not.  Although if you do that you might actually be a filmmaker, like my brother.  But as long as the spark is there, you’re on your way.

So what about you?  When did you first realize you’d become a writer?  Do tell!

 

7 thoughts on “When Do You Become A Writer?

  1. I remember reading some of Jane Yolen’s books when I was six. I thought, “I want to do that!” So I wrote an extremely strange and derivative novel. Well, a novel in six-year-old terms.

  2. I was about the same as, 10 or so, when we were reading amazingly vivid books at school like James and the Giant Peach, Charlotte’s Web and Fantastic Mr Fox. One summer, whilst camped out in a tent in my Grandparent’s back garden, I thought it would be cool to invent my own alphabet. Fun as this was it led me to think that maybe I could write my own stories, and have imaginary adventures like those in the books we read at school.

    I agree that you can teach someone how to write, just as you can teach someone how to paint, shoot a scene for a movie, etc, but that person must have the passion, the inspiration and will to want to tell a story, whether that’s in words, music, film or whatever medium that allows your imagination to create.

    Great post Merry! Brings the colour of my childhood back to me!

  3. Hola! I’ve been following your site for a while now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from New Caney Texas! Just wanted to tell you keep up the great job!

  4. I think that what you typed made a ton of sense.
    However, what about this? what if you composed a catchier post
    title? I mean, I don’t want to tell you how to run your website, but what if you added something that makes people want more? I mean When Do You Become A Writer? | Merry Farmer is a little vanilla. You ought to peek at Yahoo’s
    home page and note how they create article headlines to get people to open the
    links. You might add a related video or a related pic or two to get readers interested about what you’ve got to say. Just my opinion, it could make your blog a little bit more interesting.

  5. Very great post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I have truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.
    After all I will be subscribing for your rss
    feed and I’m hoping you write once more very soon!

Comments are closed.