Birthday Questions 2012

My brother has a tradition with friends and family.  Every year on someone’s birthday he asks them a series of questions.  These questions have to do with events of the past year, from birthday to birthday.  This year he was on a business trip for my birthday so he didn’t get to ask them.  But his fiancé, my best friend, was happy to ask them instead.  Here are my birthday questions for 2012 and my answers:

(In no particular order, because I can’t remember the order)

What was the best movie you saw (for the first time) in the last year?

Mmm… Daniel Radcliffe!

It’s a tie.  On the one hand, I have a super fun time going to see The Woman in Black with my friend Felicity.  We are both big Daniel Radcliffe fans, but I’m not much of a horror person.  But the movie turned out to be more of a suspense film than a blood and guts kind of thing.  And Daniel did a great job.  But the best part of the movie was watching it with Felicity.  Felicity jumps at everything!  Every time anything even remotely unexpected happened on screen she jumped and gasped.  Every time she did I giggled.  So basically every time anything scary happened I laughed.  It was fantastic.The other best time I had was watching The Muppets with my friends Kristine and Molly.  Not only was it a fun girl’s night out, it took me straight back to my childhood.  I was a big fan of The Muppet Show and all of the Muppet movies as a kid.  And when they rolled the closing credits and sang the “Menomenon” song we had to sing along.  So fun!

At what time in the last year did you laugh the hardest?

Me and my brothers

It was just one random night at my aunt Martha’s house after dinner.  We have family dinner every Sunday night in the house we all grew up in.  I don’t remember what my brother Stewart said or did, but we apparently both had a side of silly pills with supper.  We were just laughing over nothing and cracking Kristine up in the process.  I think Molly was there too shaking her head at us.  It just goes to show that sometimes the funniest things that happen to you are those spontaneous moments when you’re being family.What was your greatest accomplishment in the last year?

Absolutely hands down, it was fulfilling my lifelong dream of becoming a published author.

What was the biggest lesson you learned in the last year?

This was easy to answer, but the answer was a hard lesson.  In the last year I learned that some people are just crazy … and there’s nothing you can do about it.  This applies across several levels and in several situations that I ran into.  There are difficult people with legitimate psychological problems out there.  Sometimes you can’t avoid them.  Sometimes they come into your life like a wrecking ball and leave you forever scarred.

The hardest part of this was learning that no matter how rational you try to be, no matter how clear the right course of action seems to you, and no matter how hard you try to help, sometimes you can’t do anything.  Certain people will drive themselves down the road to destruction, and if you spend too much energy chasing after them it will only drive you crazy along with them.  I’m just glad that I don’t have to see some of those people ever again in this life!

What was your theme song for the year?

This one was easy too:  “I’m Still Standing” by Elton John.  Some of you know why.

(I always forget how utterly bizarre that video is until I watch it!)

Those are the only questions I can remember.  I’m sure my brother has more of them that I wasn’t asked this year.  But as the tradition goes, once the standard questions are asked, the floor is opened for other people to ask questions.

So now it’s your turn.  What birthday questions would you like to ask me?

One thought on “Birthday Questions 2012

Comments are closed.