Parasouls: Divine Intervention

Folks, today I’d like to introduce you to author Michele Richard, whose latest novel Parasouls: Diving Intervention, a YA Paranormal Romance is available now on Amazon.com and wherever eBooks are sold.

I recently asked Michele a few questions….

What was your inspiration for Parasouls?   It started with a mixture of things really. Katy Perry’s song ET was on my playlist, my friend had shared a picture of her son on Facebook and next thing I knew it was flying from my fingertips. It was what someone would call an obsession. The story demanded to be told.

How did you come up with the world that you have created in the novel?  That was a bit harder. I knew I want to do Shane’s side from the government, and I wanted Angelique’s side to be hidden. Another video – one by Brittney Spears – put me on the right track. Underground. A whole society built where the humans no long dare to tread.

What were your influences?  I’m not one for influences. I try to avoid them so that story will always be as unique as it can be.

What makes your characters unique amongst other paranormal romance characters?  I’d have to say just being who they are makes them different. I’d never read a storyline with any characters like mine. They’re born different, each with special abilities. Some of them have more latent gifts where others consider theirs to be a curse. It’s a mystery to why they are born the way they are. Finding out the “why” is half the premise of the series. I know the why, but everyone else will have to follow the journey with my characters as they learn it.

Do they bear any resemblance to any real or imaginary people?  Like I said earlier I did picture an older version of my best friend’s son. That’s where Shane’s description and name comes from. He thinks it’s pretty cool to be a superhero.

What do you hope readers will take away from this story?  Not to judge a person by the cover. What’s underneath is more important.

How long have you been writing and what has your journey to publication been like?  I stated writing almost two years ago, and I celebrated one year of publishing on February 24, 2012. So far I’ve had four full books and one anthology released via two publishing houses. One of the publishing houses I co-own with two other authors.

What can we expect from you in the future? What are you working on next?  I’ve just finished writing the last book of the story title Mocked by Faith. Affirming the Faith will finish off the tale of a couple who had their marriage arranged. Don’t let the title fool you, the story is about a romance between two people who don’t know each other when they’re married. Next up: Mocked by Fate. It’s a YA about a girl who is bullied when her family loses everything, and about the bully as he learns what he did is wrong. I’m currently writing another short story for our next anthology in The Candy Collection: Summer Confections.

About the Author:

Michele Richard has created the Mocked series. From Mocked by Destiny, the trilogy Mocked by Faith, to the Parasouls series she writes what comes from the heart. A wife and the mother of two preteen girls, she spends her days spinning tales about what happens when what you believe in mocks your every turn.

When she’s not writing, her days are filled with her family, her bunny Geneva, and friends. Her greatest passions are learning new languages and traveling. She currently resides in the Northeastern part of the United States however; her family members live down the east coast as far as North Carolina.

In 2011 Michele Richard, Lisa Bilbrey, and Laura Braley started Renaissance Romance Publishing. Together we write an anthology series called The Candy Collection.

Her works include: Mocked by series: Mocked by Destiny, Mocked by Faith, Mocked by Faith ~ Healing the Faith, Parasouls series: Divine Intervention Short stories: Changes of the Heart (Life is More Than Candy Hearts)

And here’s a look at Parasouls: Divine Intervention….

Born amongst the humans yet not being one, the Parasouls on both sides fight to remain hidden. Their gifts separate them from those who are not their kind. When you’re gift is an electric touch or red flames, physical contact is out of the question, or is it?

The resistance paranormal souls live in the underbelly of society creating their own world. Government Parasouls fight to take control of all Parasouls in their efforts to lock them away from humans. Which side is the right one to side with?

Shane Bradley has no choice, but to serve the PACT – Parasoul Acquisition Control Taskforce – as a headhunter. Angelique Collette has only known the freedoms of the underground tunnels she was raised in.

When their two souls are divinely connected in a single strike of lighting, can they survive? Can love conquer all when you’re supposed to hate the one soul you cannot live without?

