An Interview with Julia Knight

Folks, today I have the privilege of introducing you to another fantastic author, Julia Knight, whose latest novel, The Viking’s Sacrifice, was released by Carina Press just yesterday.  It’s Julia’s first historical romance.  Her other novels, Ten Ruby Trick, The Wicked Lady, Love is My Sin, and Ilfayne’s Bane, are fantasy romance.  We all know I love history but am also intrigued by how fantasy is woven into what is otherwise a historical setting.  My curiosity lead me straight to Julia Knight.  And boy am I happy it did!

I recently talked to Julia about her work.  Here’s what she had to say….

 

Tell us a bit about your forthcoming book, The Viking’s Sacrifice:

The Viking’s Sacrifice is a tale of two clashing cultures, and two people caught in the crossfire. Here’s the blurb:

“Viking raiders destroyed Wilda’s home. She witnessed the murder of her mother and would have been killed herself if it weren’t for the Viking boy Einar, who saved her from his ruthless brother. The blood and murder left Wilda cold and shorn of feeling.

Eight years later, the heathens return for Wilda. As a captive in the Viking village, she finds protection and silent comfort in the man who once gallantly saved her.

Einar has been cursed to silence by his brother. With the dark net of his brother’s power cast over their village, silence is a small price to pay for his family’s safety. But Einar is immediately drawn to Wilda, and the need to protect her from his brother awakens his Viking courage. Can Einar break his brother’s curse in time to save the village and the woman he loves?”

What drew you to the Viking time period as a setting for a novel?

Well, I’ve always been fond of the era, reading a fair bit etc. Then my editor asked if I’d thought about doing a historical, two days before I left for a holiday in Norway. Must have been fate!

If you could, would you want to go back in time and visit his era?

Like a shot! I’d love to know if what we think we know about the Vikings and Saxons is accurate, what it was really like. I’m a sucker for men in armour too 😀

You’ve also written two pirate-based novels, Ten Ruby Trick and The Wicked Lady.  What is it that you love about that world and?  

Well pirates are awesome lol. I think it’s the almost pioneer aspect of it – no laws as such except what they made themselves. I think that’s very appealing. Ten Ruby Trick is a fantasy so it’s a little different, but Van Gast is a law unto himself—he sees no need to know what the rules are, because he just ignores them anyway. Makes him a lot of fun to write!

What are the similarities and differences of writing Historical romance and Paranormal/Fantasy romance?  Which do you prefer?  

There’s a lot more research involved in historical! In a fantasy, I can pretty much make anything I like up, which has its appeal. Then again, having to stick to known facts in historical and still come up with a good story, that’s a challenge and I love a challenge. I think I like them both equally.

What was your journey to publication like?  

Pretty short, really – I got lucky! I decided to start taking my writing seriously in October 2007, and got my first book accepted (at Samhain) in August the next year. It’s been a heck of a learning curve since then!

What’s coming up next for you?  

I’ve got a sequel to Ten Ruby Trick coming out from Carina next year, and I’ve got a couple of fantasies in mind to write, and a historical which I’ll get done someday too.

 

Are you as intrigued as I am?  Then go visit Julia at her website, http://juliaknight.co.uk.  She’s also on Twitter under the handle @Knight_Julia.  And of course you can find The Viking’s Sacrifice at http://Carinapress.com

Thanks Julia!  Best of luck in the new year!

4 thoughts on “An Interview with Julia Knight

  1. Another great interview, Merry! I appreciate being introduced to these great authors. I’ll have to check out her fantasy romances too. What’s better than magic and romance?

Comments are closed.