Unlikely Hero of the Week – Matthew Lewis/Neville Longbottom

To understand the full impact of this week’s Unlikely Hero of the Week we must first cast ourselves backwards in time.  Take yourself back to this….

Aw.  Cute little pudgy, nerdy, hopeless Neville Longbottom.  In the Harry Potter books he walked the fine line of being a loser.  The only thing he seemed any good at was Herbology.  When I saw the first Harry Potter film all those years ago I thought Matthew Lewis was perfectly cast as the dorky, pathetic, but still lovable Neville.

Fast forward to today….

Oh my gosh, if there was ever an award for winning puberty this boy should get it!  HOLY COW!  Neville Longbottom grew up to be a total hottie!

And he also kicks butt in a cardigan.  Honestly, I think this was my favorite part of the Deathly Hallows II movie.  It was an awesome moment in the books and Matthew Lewis nailed it in the film.  Perhaps the best casting coup in the history of film.  I mean, how could the casting director have known in the year 2000 that J.K. Rowling would make the dopey Neville into such a hero by the end of the saga, and how could they have known that that pasty, round kid would grow up to personify the hero?

I mean, seriously!  Let’s take a look at this side-by-side.

Uncanny.  And perfect.

I also think that Tom Felton’s not doing too bad these days, but I always suspected he would turn into a hottie someday.   The whole Harry Potter made it through puberty with flying colors.

It all just reminds me of a universal truth.  A truth I learned in my own life too.  There was a boy in my class in school, Greg, who was always a short, scrawny, nerdy kid who none of the girls ever looked twice at.  I specifically remember the girls in our class at dances whispering and dreading him asking them to dance.  Then BAM!  He grew up and was suddenly incredibly attractive.  He teaches 8th grade now and I have it on very good authority that all of the middle school girls think he’s totally dreamy.  So girls, never write off the dorky boy.  Neville Longbottom happens!

5 thoughts on “Unlikely Hero of the Week – Matthew Lewis/Neville Longbottom

  1. I love these posts, Merry. I confess I’m the only person left on the planet that hasn’t seen the last two HP movies, but now I’m going to have to go check them out! Thanks for the nudge. And you’re right, that casting director should get an Oscar for his choice!

    • Ooo! The last two Harry Potter movies are some of the best ones! But I would recommend reading the 7th book again before seeing them. I hadn’t and I was about three steps behind through both of the movies. They hit the ground running in order to get all that plot in! But the bit with Neville during the battle of Hogwarts in the second movie is SO well done and true to the book! =D

  2. I am in 100% agreement! He’s been the perfect Neville throughout the whole series. It was a fantastic scene in the book, and they did an excellent job in the movie.

    Wonderful choice!

  3. Neville was one of my absolute favorite characters in both the books and the movies, so I love this post. My husband also happens to be one of those “geeky, scrawny boys who grows up to be a hottie” so I might be bias 🙂 Love this post.

Comments are closed.