If You Could Only Eat Five Foods…

So all that research about what medieval peasants eat yesterday and all the contemplation about what their diets must have really been like has left me super hungry.  And since I feel like writing a light-hearted blog post today I thought I would share with you a game we used to play around the table growing up.  This game would spark all sorts of discussions and probably helped us all eat our vegetables too.

If you could only eat five foods for the rest of your life, which five would you choose?

Here are my choices and my reasons why.

Outback Steakhouse Salmon - YUM!

1. Salmon – I love salmon.  It is delicious almost any way you cook it.  My particular favorite is Outback Steakhouse’s Atlantic Salmon with the special sauce that they serve it with.  (Yes, sauces and preparations are allowed in this game)  But it’s good with everything from plain old butter and lemon and dill to the way I used to make it slathered in pesto.

Salmon is also a great food to choose because it’s just so daggone healthy.  It’s one of those superfoods that’s supposed to fight cancer, keep your heart healthy, and grow hair on your chest, right?  It’s one of the foods that I routinely crave and I’m sure that’s because it has nutrients that I need.  However, I can’t seem to cook salmon the way I really like it myself.  I always overcook it.  That’s why nine times out of ten when I go out to eat I will get the salmon.

2. Sweet Potatoes – Here’s another of those superfoods that I love so much I could eat my weight in them.  I like them cubed and roasted, I like them mashed with brown sugar and oats and marshmallows, and I like them as sweet potato fries (which I eat with mayonnaise, but don’t judge me!).  The only time I don’t like sweet potatoes is when someone undercooks them and they’re still hard.  But again, here is a food that is supposed to be really good for your immune system and it fights cancer at the same time.  Definitely something I would want to eat all the time.

3. Brussels Sprouts – Yes, I mean it.  I think Brussels sprouts are one of those things that is so easy to destroy that most people can’t stand them.  And yeah, if you boil them they are disgusting.  But I sauté my Brussels sprouts in olive oil with a little salt and pepper and sometimes turmeric or nutmeg.  They’re so simple and yet they’re part of that green leafy vegetable family that is supposed to be so awesomely good for us.  And really you can season them with anything and they’re still wonderful.  Oh, and if I’m feeling dangerous I’ll sauté them in straight-up butter instead of olive oil.  Delicious!

4. Almonds – Maybe this is my affinity for all things medieval peasant talking, but I love almonds.  Roasted or raw, salted or plain, made into butter or straight out of the shell, it doesn’t matter.  They are so good!  I think they’re one of the most healthy tree nuts out there, although I don’t know that for sure.  I do know that they are another one of those cancer-fighting super foods too.  Yes, they have a lot of fat in them, but it’s the good kind of fat and it’s a lot better to snack on a handful of almonds in the afternoon than it is to eat a handful of chocolate chip cookies.

Which leads me to …

5. Chocolate – Yep, I’m one of those people.  I love my chocolate!  If I had a choice I would opt for milk chocolate, but dark chocolate isn’t so bad either.  I don’t think American’s truly appreciate or correctly use chocolate.  So much of what we have over here is made with hydrogenated oils, which ruins the whole thing.  The best chocolate I’ve ever had is the Swedish chocolate brand Marabou.  Oh my gosh, if you’ve never had that stuff you don’t know what you’re missing!  It melts in your mouth it’s so good.  I’ll settle for Dairy Milk chocolate, but only the kind that is made in the UK.  They make Dairy Milk chocolate in the US for the American market but it’s not the same.  I’m not a big candy person, I kind of don’t like most of it, but just about all chocolate-based candy is my friend.

I’m also really happy that there has been more and more research into the medical benefits of chocolate.  I can tell you that chocolate is great for reducing stress.  I don’t know if that’s because of the nutrients involved in the chocolate itself or if it’s the psychological effect of something so tasty and luscious.  Either way I’m happy.  And I really hope that more research discovers that medicinal chocolate can cure any ill.

So there you have it, the five foods I would choose if I could only eat five foods for the rest of my life.

What would your picks be?

11 thoughts on “If You Could Only Eat Five Foods…

  1. Afraid mine wouldn’t be near as healthy! Does Pizza count as a food? Fish and Chips…actually I don’t really eat many chips, just like the fish really. Deep fried and battered!
    I am with you on almonds. I love almond butter! Good protein and a long time ago I heard/read that they have more calcium than milk.
    Hmmm, must give this some serious thought!

    • When I come visit you someday (2013?) you’ll have to take me out for fish & chips. They are one of the things I loved the most about the UK when I was there in 2010. Fish & chips & mashed peas! Yum! =D

  2. Believe it or not, I’ve never had salmon. I think next time I go out to eat, I’ll give it a shot. I’ve always wanted to, but I get scared that I won’t like it, so I stick to what I know.

    Hmm… this one is tough for me.
    1. Cheese. I love cheese. All cheese.
    2. Hot cocoa. It makes a bad day better.
    3. Pizza, preferably fresh. The frozen stuff never satisfies.
    4. Almonds. Seems to be the preferred nut for the nuts. 🙂
    5. Huevos Rancheros (Ok, this is cheating since it’s a bunch of foods thrown together in a certain preparation method, but I eat it almost every morning and love it.)

  3. We’re pretty close here. I’ll keep your salmon (as long as someone else cooks it for me because I can’t cook it worth shit), sweet potatoes, almonds (if I can have them in butter form) and chocolate. I will add greek yogurt in place of your brussel sprouts (I want to like them so bad but I don’t).
    Fun post 🙂

    • I can’t cook salmon either. Actually, I noticed there is a class somewhere in downtown Philadelphia where they teach you how to cook fish. I might have to take that sometime! =D

  4. Are you kidding me? is this game about what five foods would sustain your optimal health should you be limited to five foods, or what five foods you love so much you could eat them for the rest of your life without getting bored? From the looks of this post, it looks like the former for you.

    (Brussels Sprouts *shiver*)

    I prefer to play the latter game.
    1) lobster
    2) lobster bisque (no pepper)
    3) bread and butter
    4) ice cream
    5) Gala apples.

    • No! I really do love Brussels sprouts! But I can’t stand lobster. So you can have my share of the world’s lobster and I’ll have your share of Brussels sprouts and life will be good! =D

Comments are closed.